Stepping Into Fantasy

20130627-155417.jpg

This is my inaugural post here at EFR and I’m really excited to be a part of this venture.

I write fantasy romance as well as contemporary and paranormal. But I lean toward fantasy. Mostly because I love creating those other worlds. And I love reading it!

I started reading fantasy when I was a young adult. Back then, there really wasn’t a genre for “fantasy romance,” it was simply fantasy. Some had romantic elements. The first fantasy book I read was Patricia McKillip’s The Forgotten Beasts of Eld. I loved that story about the magical menagerie. I also read a lot of Robert Asprin’s MYTH Inc. books. Anyone remember those? They were so great. I wish I had the entire set in paperback.

My first attempt at writing a novel was when I was in high school. It was horrible. Something about a girl stepping through a magical mirror into another dimension where there was a great war going on. My second attempt was the story of a young girl with a magical amulet. It was one level above horrible. 😉

Eventually I got it right. Now I’m working on a fantasy romance series with Ellora’s Cave. The series it titled Realm of Honor and it follows the lives of Fae and Elves with a few humans in the mix. I accidentally started writing this series. The first book was a time travel/medieval with paranormal elements. The secondary Fae characters had a story to tell all their own and I knew I had to write their story.

Somewhere along the way I added elves and dragons. I’m not even sure how that happened. I think what draws me to this genre is the promise of a new world with people and creatures and things I’ve never experienced or seen. That’s what I liked about the MYTH Inc. books. There were so many colorful characters with great stories. And there are so many more books I have yet to read and experience.

Tell me – what is on your reader go-to list for fantasy? Who is your favorite author?

About michellemiles21

Lover of hockey, baseball, coffee, Coach handbags, fine footwear and Brighton beads. Fantasy, paranormal and contemporary romance author. Proud Texan.
This entry was posted in medieval, Michelle Miles, Series and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stepping Into Fantasy

  1. Isabo Kelly says:

    I loved the MYTH Inc. books! How funny, haven’t thought of those in years. Wish I had the full collection too. Thanks for the memory 🙂

  2. kyrahalland says:

    My favorite author is Carol Berg. I’ve read all of her books, and plan on reading whatever she writes in the future. My absolute favorites of her books are the Flesh and Spirit/Breath and Bone duology.

    My favorite “classic” (written before 2000, lol) fantasy is the Riddle-Master trilogy by Patricia McKillip. I fell in love with it in high school, and have re-read it several times as an adult and it’s better each time I read it.

Leave a Reply

