From Horror to Fantasy

BrightarrowBurning72LGSince this is my first post, I’ll do as my fellow epic fantasy romance authors have done and talk about how I came to fantasy. I started out a horror reader. Anything spooky, gross, or vampire related, I gobbled up. I liked the idea of fantasy, but when I was young, I tried reading The Lord of the Rings and just couldn’t get past the language. I wasn’t ready for those books yet.

Unfortunately, horror also gave my overactive imagination too much fodder for nightmares. I had to find something else to read! By the time I got to high school, I’d fallen in love with a bunch of fantasy movies–Labyrinth, Willow (remember that one?), The Princess Bride… And those movies really played well with my imagination. I started telling myself fantasy-type stories (I’d been telling myself stories since I was a kid and some of those stories were starting to land on the page at that stage).

So my mom suggested Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern books. That was it. I was hooked. Next up was Barbara Hambley’s Dragon books. And I was spending my bookstore time in the fantasy shelves. Mercedes Lackey led to Marion Zimmer Bradley, which led me to David Eddings and Raymond E. Feist, and on to more authors than I can list.

Eventually, I did tackle The Lord of the Rings. This time around, I loved it. But I loved it the most when the romantic subplot was introduced. That’s when those books really got going for me. In fact, the romantic subplots of all the fantasy books I read really drew me in.

It was a short journey from there to actually writing my own fantasy stories–almost all of which had strong romance plots. I never looked back.

Okay, I do still dive into a little horror reading every now and then. And I write science fiction and paranormal romances as well. But those fantasy stories keep calling. So many wonderful possibilities.

Happy Reading!

This entry was posted in epic fantasy romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From Horror to Fantasy

  1. Amy Raby says:

    Cool, it sounds like we had some similar fantasy “gateway drugs” (McCaffrey, Hambly, Eddings).

  2. Isabo Kelly says:

    I noticed that! Seems a lot of us were sucked in by the masters. I’m sure the Dragon Riders of Pern played a huge role in my writing. And I got to meet Barbara Hambley a few years ago. Talk about star-struck–once I found out who I was talking too! LOL

  3. kyrahalland says:

    I’m not the only one who told stories to myself as a child! 😀 My gateway drugs were the Prydain Chronicles by Lloyd Alexander and the Earthsea Trilogy by Ursula K. Leguin. I also enjoyed the David Eddings books.

Leave a Reply

